Pillars of Eternity

 NEWS
  • Nintendo Switch: Release Date Announced for March 3, 2017!
  • However, Pre-Orders Are Not Yet Available
  • Nintendo is Hosting Live Play Events Where Gamers Can Test-Drive the Switch Before Making the Decision to Buy
  • Locations for These Events are on the Nintendo Switch Website
  • The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild Announced as a Day 1 Launch Title!
  • Make Sure to Check Our Shop for T-Shirt and Merch Sales!
3.5/5
  • Story
    4.5/5
  • Audio
    2.5/5
  • Graphics
    3/5
  • Gameplay
    3/5
  • Mechanics
    3.5/5

Lately the Role Playing genre has been flooded MMO’s, aRPG’s even FPS, but few developers have decided to go the classic route of the traditional RPG. Obsidian Entertainment did just that with their new game Pillars of Eternity. They went right to the route of establishing your character’s “sheet” with some classic decisions of “how many points do I put in stealth?” “ or “what kind of character is my character going to be?”. It really brought me back to my days of playing Dungeons and Dragons with my friends; designing characters to be exactly how we wanted to be, and then putting up with the nonsense that the dungeon master, or in this case the developer throws at me.

This game immediately jumped out at me as a game similar to the classic Baldur’s Gate, a game I spent way too much time playing when I was younger so I got pretty excited. It definitely facilitated a lot of RPG mechanics that I much enjoy from DND, as mentioned earlier: editing the way your character looks, editing the type of class/race they are, and the number crunching of finding the perfect specialization. I spent a good 30 minutes of booting up the game simply reading through all the different routes I could go with my character, and finding out which archetype would suit me the best. With each class, as per the usual, there were different skills to each class, and that was another thing that I spent reading.

pillars-of-eternity

The skills seem to be well thought out and highly reflect the different ways your character (or characters) will be played. The different races were my favorite part of the character creation. They have the typical human/elves/gnome(or dwarf) races, but Pillar of Eternity have provided their own spin on them as well as introducing their own race: Godlike. I can’t even explain the absolute bad-assness of this race. They just look powerful, with their emanating features and protruding, but I digress. The point I’ve been trying to make is that character creation is incredibly fun.

The story kicks off with your character going along with a group of settlers. As a little bit of story-telling begins, it cuts to your character getting sick and so the settlers stop to allow you to rest up. The leader of the group tells you and another person to head to the nearby river and grab some berries that should make you feel a little better. As with every game, it’s inevitably a bad thing, as some bandits raid the camp while you and this other person are off getting berries. To be honest, the first part of the story was kind of bland- nothing really progressed story wise. But shortly after, the story ramps up insanely quickly with a crazy storm sending you and two survivors from the camp into a cave. As you make your way through the cave, you are told a story of how the cave and surrounding area was some ruins of some culture of another and the bandits that attacked you were only “protecting” them due to who their leader/deity telling them to do so.

“I’m a Watcher. You can trust me.”

Then you exit the cave to stumble upon this cult who surrounds a burnt corpse. The cult leader talks about how they are doing the proper thing and then this huge machine explodes, your followers die, you get knocked out, and the cult ends up as burnt corpses as well. You wake up, and a dormant power wakes up inside you as you become a Watcher: a person who can see memories of things that have happened as well as the events that certain people originated from. It just expands there, quickly too if you happen to talk to the right NPC. The story is cut into different acts, with 4 being available right now. I’d be surprised if Obsidian didn’t release more as the game matured a bit, as I feel like they have plenty of options to explore.

The audio is definitely the weakest part of the game. The only thing I enjoyed listening to was the occasional dialogue. I don’t know if it was intentional or not but it seemed that the dialogue wasn’t consistent. Multiple times, the NPC you’d interact with would spout one line of dialogue and then not say anything the next line. It would get pretty frustrating when I was expecting the funnier lines of dialogue, but be stuck reading the lines like some kind of barbarian! Also the score seemed weak. It might be that I’ve gotten used to the awesome music I’ve been hearing on games lately but, it just felt like there hasn’t been any coordination with what’s going on in the game. In conjuction with that, the graphics aren’t all that mind blowing either. They are definitely a lot smoother than some other RPG classics, but that’s to be expected as the game is a month old when compared to the other games that are 5+ years old.

pillars-of-eternity-screenshot

The gameplay and mechanics were definitely decent enough in some areas, they were frustrating in others. The basics of moving around the map and getting to places seems to take forever. On one hand, you have the option of having the exploration and movement part go up to double normal speed, but even then, it felt so slow and seemed to take forever just to explore new areas. It was very exhausting and just slowed the game play down a lot! At one point, I had to just exit the game because the distance between combat or dialogue just seemed in the excess of 5-10 minutes of walking to the next area – it can be that painful! On the other hand, when combat actually takes place, it’s incredibly fun. You’re able to pause combat to issue new commands to the people in your party, as well as cast some of the many spells that are available to your characters. It’s very much turn based, but the pause feature gives you a lot more time to think about how you want to go about killing your enemies when they pop up.

Overall, the game is quite enjoyable, and is right up my role playing alley. But there are some parts of it that will bore me to the point that I won’t be able to play this game day to day; back to back. I do want to get to the bottom of the story, but when it takes me 5 minutes to get to a point where I hear some dialogue, walk around for another 5 minutes, fight some things for 2 minutes, walk around for another few minutes, then MAYBE hear some more dialogue, I’ll get too bored. Too many high paced games have put me to the point of not having the patience of playing a game like that for very long. I’d recommend it if you enjoyed classics like Baldur’s Gate. Otherwise, pass up – you’re not going to be missing “the next big thing”.

  • author image
    Jul 26, 2017 @ 10:13 am

    12459 442220Precisely what I was looking for, thankyou for putting up. 254800

  • author image
    Jul 26, 2017 @ 5:54 am

    Hey there! I’ve been reading your blog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great work!

  • author image
    Jul 26, 2017 @ 5:54 am

    Thank you for sharing your info. I really appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your further write ups thank you once again.

  • author image
    Jul 26, 2017 @ 5:54 am

    I simply could not leave your website prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the usual info a person supply for your visitors? Is gonna be back regularly in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  • author image
    Jul 24, 2017 @ 23:50 pm

    Aw, this was a really nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to generate a good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a whole lot and never manage to get nearly anything done.

  • author image
    Jul 24, 2017 @ 23:50 pm

    Hi there to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this blog; this website contains amazing and actually fine data in support of visitors.

  • author image
    Jul 24, 2017 @ 23:50 pm

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, such as you wrote the book in it or something. I believe that you just could do with some % to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is wonderful blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  • author image
    Jul 23, 2017 @ 21:21 pm

    It’s remarkable to visit this website and reading the views of all colleagues about this article, while I am also keen of getting knowledge.

  • author image
    Jul 23, 2017 @ 21:21 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on %meta_keyword%. Regards

  • author image
    Jul 21, 2017 @ 4:07 am

    I want to to thank you for this excellent read!! I absolutely enjoyed every little bit of it. I have got you book-marked to look at new things you post…

  • author image
    Jul 21, 2017 @ 4:06 am

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read even more things about it!

  • author image
    Jul 21, 2017 @ 4:06 am

    Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  • author image
    Jul 20, 2017 @ 4:06 am

    This piece of writing is in fact a fastidious one it helps new internet visitors, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  • author image
    Jul 20, 2017 @ 4:06 am

    It’s very effortless to find out any topic on net as compared to books, as I found this paragraph at this web page.

  • author image
    Jul 20, 2017 @ 4:06 am

    Great blog here! Also your web site a lot up fast! What host are you the use of? Can I get your associate hyperlink on your host? I desire my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  • author image
    Jul 19, 2017 @ 5:57 am

    Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; we have developed some nice methods and we are looking to exchange techniques with other folks, why not shoot me an email if interested.
    [url=http://www.whorebutt.top/gallery/3644/young-willing-sweetie-fucked-by-two-stiff-cocks-hardcore.html]Young willing sweetie fucked by two stiff cocks hardcore[/url]

  • author image
    Jul 19, 2017 @ 5:42 am

    Watch 123movies for free streaming website https://new123movies.to/

  • author image
    Jul 18, 2017 @ 12:54 pm

    Very energetic post, I loved that bit. Will there be a part 2?

  • author image
    Jul 18, 2017 @ 12:54 pm

    Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design. Thanks a lot

  • author image
    Jul 18, 2017 @ 12:54 pm

    Just wish to say your article is as surprising. The clearness for your put up is just spectacular and that i could assume you are an expert in this subject. Fine with your permission let me to snatch your feed to keep up to date with approaching post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  • author image
    Jul 17, 2017 @ 10:11 am

    I go to see daily a few web sites and information sites to read articles or reviews, except this blog gives feature based articles.

  • author image
    Jul 17, 2017 @ 10:10 am

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.|

  • author image
    Jul 17, 2017 @ 10:10 am

    I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing issues with your site. It appears as if some of the written text on your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too? This could be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this happen before. Cheers

  • author image
    Jul 15, 2017 @ 8:24 am

    Your means of describing everything in this post is in fact fastidious, all be able to effortlessly be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

  • author image
    Jul 15, 2017 @ 8:24 am

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site. You have some really great articles and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an e-mail if interested. Thanks!

  • author image
    Jul 15, 2017 @ 8:24 am

    My family all the time say that I am killing my time here at web, except I know I am getting know-how every day by reading thes pleasant content.

  • author image
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 5:38 am

    tres joli lace frontal https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ny8rUpI_98I conforme à cette image et lettre rapide

  • author image
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 1:03 am

    I’m very happy to find this website. I wanted to thank you for your time due to this fantastic read!! I definitely savored every part of it and i also have you saved as a favorite to see new information in your web site.

  • author image
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 1:03 am

    Wonderful article! That is the kind of info that are meant to be shared across the net. Disgrace on Google for now not positioning this submit upper! Come on over and consult with my website . Thanks =)

  • author image
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 1:02 am

    What i do not realize is actually how you’re no longer actually much more smartly-liked than you may be right now. You’re very intelligent. You recognize therefore considerably in the case of this subject, produced me personally believe it from a lot of various angles. Its like women and men aren’t involved unless it is something to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your own stuffs excellent. All the time take care of it up!

  • author image
    Jul 14, 2017 @ 1:02 am

    You need to take part in a contest for one of the finest blogs on the web. I’m going to recommend this website!

  • author image
    Jul 12, 2017 @ 21:17 pm

    Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  • author image
    Jul 12, 2017 @ 21:16 pm

    My coder is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on several websites for about a year and am anxious about switching to another platform. I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

  • author image
    Jul 12, 2017 @ 1:22 am

    Saved as a favorite, I like your site!

  • author image
    Jul 12, 2017 @ 1:21 am

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  • author image
    Jun 27, 2017 @ 18:24 pm

    821655 934999 Style, Tech and Internet post quite intriguing therefore Ive included our track-back for it on my own webpage, continue the wonderful job:) 30689

  • author image
    Jun 21, 2017 @ 6:31 am

    372740 869335I conceive this internet site has got some real wonderful data for every person : D. 469489

  • author image
    Jun 20, 2017 @ 0:17 am

    I want forgathering utile info, this post has got me even more info! .

Recent Posts

Find Us On Facebook!

%d bloggers like this: